Embrace the Chaos


We were out of town last weekend, so of course when we got home Sunday afternoon we had so much to do; clean the sheets, vacuum, dishes, laundry, prep some food, blah blah blah.

I remember being in college and thinking there wasn’t enough time in the day to do everything that needed to be done, but boy was I mistaken — being a parent and doing everything you’d like is next to impossible. And I’m saying this with two young kids — I cannot imagine how much more busy we’ll be once they get involved in school activities.

Day in and day out. It’s nonstop.

Get the kid ready for preschool. Drop off. Tend to baby. Do a few chores at home. Nap time. Pick up kid. Play. More chores. Cook. Husband comes home at 5:30pm. Eat. Bath. Teeth. Pajamas. Books. 7:00pm bedtime.

Try to find time to exercise somewhere in that mess.

Repeat.


It’s a never ending balancing act. Throw in there the time you and your spouse want for things you’re interested in, for things that make you ‘you’, and then it just gets messy. One person gets Monday and Thursday evenings, so the other should get Tuesday and Fridays, right? But then something comes up and that Monday/Thursday evenings turns into Monday/Thursday/Friday evening one week. Well, where does that leave you? And what about family time with everyone?

Raising a family is the ultimate balancing act.

There are so many times my spouse and I aren’t on the same page about things; where I feel upset over the amount of time he has alone with friends, or where he gets jealous over my ability to exercise daily when he doesn’t get the time to do so like I do. All of these feelings go along with the season of life we’re in. But I promise it’s much easier to balance everything once you’re on the same page. Being on the same page is important, and often involves realizing one super important thing:

It’s not always fair. 

And if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years is that more often than not, it won’t be fair! That you’re not entitled to your “me” time, and that you need to be flexible and realistic. It’s always give and take. Be open about what you need, actively listen to the needs of your partner, and compromise.

There isn’t enough time to get all the things done that my spouse and I want; both individually and as a family. But working together as a team makes handling the chaos of the day so much easier. And I keep reminding myself that one day, we’ll miss this — we’ll be older, the kids won’t want to come out of their rooms and we’ll be sitting in the living room twiddling our thumbs, wishing we had more time with them.

So this is my reminder. Y’all are my accountabilibuddies.

Enjoy the moment. Don’t wish the days away. Embrace the Chaos.


Leave a Reply

